Community Engagement

  

The GPSA Community Affairs Committee was created in 2015 to enhance the relationship that GPSA has with the WSU and Pullman community. Our goal is to promote the inclusion and involvement of all graduate and professional students in all events that involve the community inside and outside of WSU. On this page, you will find resources on how to get engaged with the WSU and Pullman community including community partners and contact information, events, as well as other ways to get involved. Please contact gpsa.community@wsu.edu for more information. 

GPSA Community Affairs is featuring WSU graduate and professional students that are doing research related to or making an impact on the Pullman/Moscow community. See the GPSA Community Affairs Spotlight!
      

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS SPOTLIGHT

     

   

Current Engagement Opportunities

     

Fellow STEAM Enthusiasts! 

The CCE is passionate about supporting opportunities for STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, and math) focused educational outreach to the communities throughout the Palouse. If you are interested in spreading STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, and math) knowledge come join us! 

Participants are encouraged to staff their own table and create a hands-on project that students and their families can do together. If you are not up to creating your own activity our CCE team is happy to create one for you! Also, if you are interested in participating individually that is great too!  

Please contact Xingyao Chen, Group Projects Graduate Assistant at the CCE, for further details. 

Phone: (509) 335-0581

 

 Work with a Community Partner

WSU and the CCE has transitioned to a new management system to help you get engaged in the community! Go to wsu.givepulse.com to find the right opportunity for you! 

If you would like to consider a community engagement component for your course, research, or scholarship agenda, please contact the CCE’s Faculty Consultant at jessica.perone@wsu.edu.

 

 Women's Center

The WSU Women's Center has data that needs to be organized and analyzed. If you are interested in helping out and working on your data analysis skills reach out to Amy Sharp, Director of the Women's Center at amy.sharp@wsu.edu. 

   

Community Events

   

For PDF, please see October Community Events.

    

    

Community Partners

Agency Name Contact Name Email Regular Meetings
Alternatives to Violence on the Palouse Callie Metzner cvs.advocate1@atvp.org  
American Red Cross Mary Kress mary.kress@redcross.org  
Backyard Harvest Anna Zabala director@backyardharvest.org  
Boost Collaborative Sue K suek@boostcollaborativewa.org  
Center for Civic Engagement Jessica Perone jessica.perone@wsu.edu  
Chas Clinic Amy Isbelle aisbelle@chas.org  
Circles of Caring Hollie Mooney    
Citizen's Climate Lobby Simon Smith simonofworldthree@gmail.com Meet 3rd Thursday each month, 5:30–7 PM. Even months meet at Umpqua Bank Meeting Room in Pullman. Odd months meet at 1912 Center in Moscow.
Community Action Center Robyn Glessner & Jeff Guyett robyng@cacwhitman.org &
JeffG@cacwhitman.org
 
Community Child Care Center Amy Robbins & Mary Tatham amy.r@community-childcare.org &
mary@community-childcare.org
 
Department of Children Youth and Families Barb Sheffler barbara.sheffler@dcyf.wa.gov  
Disability Action Center Krista Kramer krista@dacnw.org  
Disability Action Center NW Vicki Leeper vicki@dacnw.org  
DSHS Disability Admin Services Catherine Higgins booscaa@dshs.wa.gov  
Family Promise of the Palouse Janine Rivera fpp_acv@familypromisepalouse.org  
Friends of Hospice Annie Pillers & Terrie Teare apillers@gmail.com & coordinator@friendsofhospice.net  
Friends of the Clearwater
Jeff Juel
foc@friendsoftheclearwater.org
 
Gladish Community and Cultural Center   info@gladishcommunity.org  
Health Care Authority Sarah Westensee sarah.westensee@HCA.WA.gov  
Homes of Hope Angie Derting director@homesofhopeproject.org  
Hope Center Thrift Store Dede MacReynolds hopecenterservices@gmail.com  
Latah County Library Cathy Ensley cathye@latahlibrary.org  
Latah Human Needs Council Anne Korp vic@atvp.org Meet 1st Wednesday each month at the Department of Health and Welfare in Moscow, 12–1 PM.
League of Women Voters  
 
lwvpull@yahoo.com
Meet 3rd Thursday each month at Community Congregational Church, 12 PM.
Mack Strong TEAM-WORKS Foundation Charice DeGuzman Charice@teamworksacademy.org  
Martin Luther King Jr Family 
Outreach Center
Adell Whitehead
info@mlkspokane.org
 
Moscow Chamber of Commerce 
and Visit Moscow ID
Stephanie Allen membership@moscowchamber.com  
Moscow Wild At Art Donald Stanziano dstanziano@gmail.com  
Nez Perce National Historical Park Kelly Kincaid kelly_kincaid@nps.gov  
Palouse Alliance/Palouse Resource Network  
http://palouseresources.org/organization/palouse-alliance-for-health-individuals-families-and-communities 
Meet 3rd Wednesday each month at Palouse Regional Hospital, 3–4:30 PM.
Palouse Clearwater Food Coalition Colette DePhelps cdephelps@uidaho.edu Meet 3rd Thursday each month at Daily Grind or Moscow Federal Building, 11:30–1 PM.
Palouse Conservation District Jodi Prout palousecd@palousecd.org  
Palouse Discovery Science Center Colleen Hinman & Sara Merrick educator@palousescience.org & outreach@palousescience.org  
Palouse Environmental Sustainability Coalition Pat Rathmann patty0727@hotmail.com  
Palouse Habitat for Humanity Jennifer Wallace director@palousehabitat.org  
Palouse Ice Rink Laura Wold manager@palouseicerink.com  
Palouse Knowledge Corridor Asa Brown asa.brown@wsu.edu Meet 2nd Friday each month at Pullman-Moscow Airport, 12PM.
Palouse Land Trust Jaime Jovanovich Walker jaime@palouselandtrust.org  
Palouse River Counseling/Harvest House Mike Berney mberney@prcounseling.org  
Palouse STEAM Coalition

Jamie Gaber

palousesteam@gmail.com
 
Phoenix Conservancy Ben Stone bstone@phoenixconservancy.org  
Pullman Civic Trust Mary Carloye mcarloye@completebbs.com  
Pullman Community on Aging Nany Backes pullmancomcoa@gmail.com  
Pullman Library Joanna Bailey jbailey@neill-lib.org  
Pullman Parks and Rec Megan Vining megan.vining@ci.pullman.wa.us  
Pullman Parks and Recreation and 
Pullman Aquatic and Fitness Center
Anna Pearson anna.pearson@pullman-wa.gov  
Pullman Police Department Heidi Lambley heidi.lambley@pullman-wa.gov  
Pullman Regional Hospital Becky Highfill & Catherine Wilkins becky.highfill@pullmanregional.org &
catherine.wilkins@pullmanregional.org
 
Pullman School District Katie Evermann KEvermann@psd267.org  
Regional Theater of the Palouse Michael Todd rtoptheatre@gmail.com  
Rural Resources Andree Marcus-Rader, Marianna Pilgeram, & Melissa Johnson arader@ruralresources.org,
mpilgeram@ruralresources.org
, &
mjohnson@ruralresources.org
 
Salvation Army Janice Yanes  janice.yanes@usw.salvationarmy.org   
SCORE Max Mohan mohan.manjit@gmail.com  
Sojourners Alliance Steve Bonnar steve.sojourners@gmail.com  
The Idaho Foodbank Janelle Zenner jzenner@idahofoodbank.org  
The Thrift Shop Suzanne Kopan Sakwa skopan@gmail.com  
United Way of Pullman Daquarii Rock unitedwayofpullman@gmail.com  
Vitalant Joe Fairbanks joefairb@hotmail.com  
Whitman County Health Department Troy Henderson troy.henderson@co.whitman.wa.us  
Whitman County Food Coalition  
https://wcfoodcoalition.org/events-calendar/ 
Meet 2nd Thursday each month at Colfax Food Pantry, 10–11 AM.
Whitman County Library Sheri sheri@whitco.lib.wa.us  
WSU Pullman Relations Committee Regan Donaldson events@pullmanchamber.com Meet 3rd Wednesday every other month at Daily Grind, 3 PM.
YMCA of the Palouse Josh Paparazzo operations@palouseymca.org